New Music: Lana Del Rey – “West Coast”

April 14, 2014 § 1 Comment


After endless teasers and anticipation, Lana Del Rey‘s new single is finally here! “West Coast” is the debut track off the singer’s upcoming sophomore album Ultraviolence, which has a tentative May 18 release date.

After debuting the song at last night’s Coachella festival, the official audio was released this morning. “West Coast” is a dramatic departure from Del Rey’s usually soaring, orchestraic  production – thanks to the Black Keys‘ Dan Auerbach’s gritty guitar flicks, rusty synths and static percussion. If this bluesy tune is any indication of the singer’s sophomore project, then we’re all in for a treat.

Listen below: Keep reading!

Music Bite: Jack White Announces New Album, Releases “High Ball Stepper”

April 1, 2014 § Leave a comment


No…this is not an April Fool’s joke! Jack White is planning to follow up his stellar 2012 debut Blunderbuss with a new project! The rocker has announced that his sophomore album Lazaretto will be released on June 10 via Third Man Records.

Just for good measure, he followed up the announcement by dropped a brand new tune – “High Ball Stepper.”

Listen to the album’s bluesy instrumental single below:

Aside from his sophomore album, Jack White has a handful of other projects in the works – a collaboration on Neil Young‘s upcoming solo album and new music with Dead Weather. But the big question remains unanswered – will we ever hear from The Raconteurs ever again?

New Video: Dream Lake – “In The Lights”

April 1, 2014 § 1 Comment


Dream Lake displays the complicated nature of love in their new video for “In The Lights.” The Felicia Boudrée-directed video shows a young couple in love, as they explore the streets of Sweden. From romantic kisses to fueled arguments, the visual reflects different facets of everyday relationships. The enthralling visual complements the tune’s dream-like rhythms, which are filled with piano melodies and soaring harmonies.

Check out the official video below!

“In The Lights” is one of the highlights of their self-titled EP, released in December 2013. Dream Lake is a Swedish synth-pop duo comprised of Isabella Svärdstam and Niklas Willar Lidholm. They describe their music as “expressing the emotional state that oscillates between dream and reality. Melancholic tones and lyricism, combine in serene beauty.”

Where Am I?

You are currently viewing the archives for April, 2014 at youthandhysteria.

%d bloggers like this: