London Fall ’12 Fashion Week: My Top 3!

February 23, 2012 § Leave a comment

London’s fashion week has just wrapped up with Milan now picking up the speed. I look to London for quirky and fun looks, but the Fall ’12 collections shown this season were surprisingly forgettable.

But I did find three collections that caught my eye!

(I’ve had a falling out with Burberry’s collections a while ago, so don’t expect that name to pop up here…)

3. Dion Lee

I’ve never heard of this label beforehand, but the futuristic cutouts, minimal silhouettes and stark colors of Dion Lee’s collection definitely piqued my interest! While the collection is body-conscious, it is not overtly sexual. For the designer to find and hone in that difficult balance is amazing.

Click here to view the full collection!

2. Mary Katrantzou

From the 3-D like patterns to the immaculate and architectural construction, Mary Katrantzou’s Fall ’12 collection was very intense! The looks were all very risky but none failed due to Katrantzou’s immense talent of designing. I loved the original silhouettes she created; I can’t recall seeing them anywhere else. The intense color schemes packed a serious punch. This collection was strictly British, which I loved!

Click here to view the full collection!

Read on to see my number one pick!

1. Giles

Click here to view the full collection!

I usually boast my love for edgy and futuristic brands, but I’ve always had a soft spot for classic romanticism when it comes to clothes; I think it is beautiful how that theme can present a story in a collection. Giles Deacon’s Fall ’12 collection fully embodies this theme, which left me pleasantly speechless. The tailoring was on point, the fabrics moved effortlessly and the prints cemented the richly vintage feel. My favorite look was the water-stained gown, lovely right? I’m also a big fan of laser-cut fabrics, and a majority of the looks had a TON of it! This collection is almost like a fairy-tale with the way the clothes are presented. Simply magical.


All photos courtesy of: Style.com

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading London Fall ’12 Fashion Week: My Top 3! at youthandhysteria.

meta

