New Music: Drake feat. Rihanna – “Take Care”

November 7, 2011 § Leave a comment

One of the most anticipated albums of the year, Drake’s Take Care, leaked yesterday to much excitement. The most talked about track thus far is the rapper/singer’s duet with former flame and Pop sensation Rihanna.

The title track of the record, “Take Care” takes samples for Jaime xx’s remix of Gil Scott-Heron’s “I’ll Take Care Of You” and strives to create a moody and vulnerable vibe. The thought process was in the right place, but the execution of the song threw me off. The off-kilter beat is a bit uncomfortable; am I supposed to rave to it? Cry to it? Get high to it? The overall vibe I got from “Take Care” was awkward and monochromatic.

But who knows? I may change my mind once I listen to the album in full…

Check back here soon for my review of Take Care once the album releases (legally)!

Listen to “Take Care” and see what you think:

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading New Music: Drake feat. Rihanna – “Take Care” at youthandhysteria.

meta

