My Top 10 Horror Flicks: Get Ready To Scream!

October 31, 2011 § Leave a comment

I’ve been a horror film lover ever since I was little, so I naturally love Halloween for its spook factor. There are so many thrillers that have been filmed over the years, and a great majority don’t scare me (I don’t get scared easily). But there are a few that succeed in making my skin crawl and have me running to turn all the lights on. I present to you my top 10 Horror films of all time!

10. Saw (2004)

I’m a big fan of the Saw franchise, more so the older films than the newer ones. Saw was the first movie that I’ve seen where people had to fight for their lives via the most horrendous and sickening “games” created by the uber-creepy Jigsaw.

9. Dawn of the Dead (1978)

While the (many) sequels were scary, nothing comes close to the original. The sole idea of the “Living Dead” is completely horrifying, and this movie takes it to the next level. There’s also a birth of a zombie baby, WTF?!

8. Final Destination (2000)

This isn’t the typical horror flick, but I LOVE the “Final Destination” franchise and the first one is my favorite. I like the idea of everyday people having to cheat death in order to survive. Plus, the intricate deaths are just awesome.

7. Poltergeist (1982)

I believe in ghosts and this movie haunted me in my sleep. The uncontrollable force that was “The Beast” was so frightening. Combine that with the sickly-sweet Carol Anne and you got one of the most classic horror films. “THEY’RE HEREEEEEE!!!”

6. The Exorcist (1973)

Whenever religion comes into play in a horror film (i.e. The Omen) it turns up the creep factor so high because religion (especially Christianity) by itself is already bizarre. So when you throw a possessed child, in the mix you got me hooked. And who could forget that sickening spider-walk?!

5. The Silence of the Lambs (1991)

Hannibal Lecter is one of the most bone-chilling characters I’ve ever seen in a movie. He is incredibly smart and is able to read people like a book, all while secretly plotting ways to eat unsuspecting people. This movie is the ultimate thrill!

4. Carrie (1976)

This movie deals with the supernatural (telekinesis), which I’ve always thought was frightening. But the scariest character was Carrie’s mother. The overzealous Christian fundamentalist will go to all ends to keep her daughter secluded from reality, which is the trippiest part for me.

3. Child’s Play (1988)

I DON’T LIKE DOLLS. I’ve been scared of them since I was little, so when I first watched this movie at a young age I was haunted for a very long time. Chucky is so demonic, so evil, so twisted and he’s not even in a human’s body anymore. He’s a freaking doll AHH!

2. The Shining (1980)

This classic thriller is terribly frightening for me because it centers around the human psyche and how seclusion can really drive someone crazy. From the crazed Jack to the eccentric wife to the eerily telepathic son, this movie has all the elements to terrify and provoke thought. “HERE’S JOHNNY!”

1. A Nightmare on Elm Street (1984)

You can’t get more classic horror film than this creepy film. “Nightmare on Elm Street” was the first movie to actually give me nightmares, seeing how in the movie Freddy Krueger had the ability to kill you even in your sleep! That alone set the bar for all time scariness in a movie. To this day, I still have to watch this movie with the lights on.

What’s Your Favorite Horror Flick?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Top 10 Horror Flicks: Get Ready To Scream! at youthandhysteria.

meta

