The Truth About Fashion – It’s Not All About Shopping!

October 10, 2011 § 2 Comments

I cannot tell you the amount of times that various people have questioned why I have chosen fashion as my career path. It has come to the point that I need to clarify what the real fashion industry is like, since many people don’t take it for what it really is: a business. It is incredibly frustrating to know that people do not give credit to one’s career. My interest in fashion began when I was about 15-years-old, when I read my first US Vogue issue. Since then I have taught myself everything I thought I needed to know about the field, including interning for various companies. Even after experiencing the real world of the fashion industry, I still love it and know that it is what I want to pursue in my future.

Yet there are other people who do not fully understand the industry or do not care to realize that it is not just a superficial or artsy “hobby.” Being the president of the Haute Fashion club at Northeastern University, I have come across a lot of people who think that fashion is solely revolved around shopping (I’m being serious). Even some of our members, who I realize are somewhat green and are just gaining interest of fashion, feel that the industry is all about “pretty” clothes. I place the word “pretty” in quotations because the majority of the clothes created by these designers are meant to edgy and innovative, not just a basic, run of the mill dress. What people don’t realize is that it takes a ton of creative, dedicated and intelligent people to run this multi-faceted business.

How do you think magazines are created? You think these women just sit around in their offices gabbing about their latest clutch purchase from Alexander Wang? NO! There are editors (marketing, fashion, creative, accessories, beauty, etc), photographers, journalists, interns, advertisers, PR representatives, stylists, clothing designers, graphic designers and accountants that are all necessary to create a single magazine issue. They all rely on each other to create an interesting product that readers will buy off the newsstands.

Luxury fashion houses also receive the same disregard, when in fact a great majority of these houses accumulate millions per year. Clothing designs are quite important for these houses (who are mostly part of the luxury goods company LVMH or PPR) but the main factor these houses need is the ability to sell. Sure the likes of Balenciaga, Louis Vuitton and Alexander McQueen have stunning designs that many, including myself, admire. But what’s the point if these designs cannot be sold to the general public? Many people think these houses solely create “pretty” clothes, but if they don’t sell those clothes they are out of a great-paying job and you (the naive customer) is without clothes to fill in your oversized closet.

There are so many other careers within the fashion industry that play key roles in upholding the industry, but I don’t have the time to go through them. All I want for people to realize is that while fashion is a true art form, it is also a luxury industry that helps drive many international countries’ economies. So the next time you look at a photo shoot in Vogue, take the time to see the effort put in to create those glossy editorials. Then, you can admire the “pretty” clothes.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to The Truth About Fashion – It’s Not All About Shopping!

  • Couldn’t agree with you more. It seems odd though that people who would be part of a club focused on fashion would think it’s about shopping… I thought this opinion was reserved only to hetero guys 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Truth About Fashion – It’s Not All About Shopping! at youthandhysteria.

meta

