Editorial of the Moment: Vogue Japan August ’08 – “The Country Went Wild”

September 7, 2011 § 1 Comment

Being a fashion fiend, I’m always looking for magazine editorials that are fresh, stimulating, and innovative! I tend to stick to international magazines, since I feel they are less afraid to push buttons and fashion boundaries. My current favorite is no exception. I stumbled upon “The Country Went Wild” from Vogue Japan’s August 2008 issue a few weeks ago, and it’s been embedded in my head ever since!

Shot by Camilla Akrans, the editorial features Brazilian model Aline Weber in a mysterious forest & sporting some serious fashion. I’ve always been a fan of Akrans’s dream-like photography style, so I was immediately drawn to this editorial. I love the contrast between Aline’s alabaster skin and hair with the saturated background and dark clothing. Both contrasts are so extreme and vivid, which makes for a modern editorial.

The styling in this editorial is very sexy, but it still remains classy. The touches of lace, fur, and sheer fabric supports the somber background, further emphasizing the dramatic theme. I’m drawn to Romantic Gothic elements in fashion, and this editorial makes it accesible and classic without being tacky.

View my favorite shots from “The Country Went Wild” below:

Click here to see the rest of the editorial!

Photos Courtesy of: Models.com & StoreMags.com

Tagged: , , , ,

§ One Response to Editorial of the Moment: Vogue Japan August ’08 – “The Country Went Wild”

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Editorial of the Moment: Vogue Japan August ’08 – “The Country Went Wild” at youthandhysteria.

meta

