Fall 2011 Haute Couture: My Fashion Review

July 20, 2011 § Leave a comment

Two weeks ago, Paris proved they were the ultimate fashion capital of the world when the big fashion houses debuted their Fall 2011 Haute Couture collections (which showed from July 4th to the 7th). Couture isn’t meant for every fashion house or company; it needs patience, precision, and critical thought. So I was greatly excited to view these collections. But after viewing and hearing about the various collections, I found only 1 that I truly loved. I present to you my selected review of the Fall 2011 Haute Couture collections!

Christian Dior

Many (including myself) were anxious to see Christian Dior’s Haute Couture collection post-Galliano, and what the house gave us was nothing unexpected. John Galliano was known for the creative energy he brought to the house, and this Fall 2011 HC collection did not reflect that. Instead, the ensembles were confusing, loud, and over-the-top. The focus of the collection got lost within neon tulle layers and unnecessary accessories. I hope that Dior’s upcoming Spring 2012 collection finds itself within the high ranks that Galliano once had.

View the entire collection here

Overall Rating: 1/5

Givenchy

It’s a bit difficult for me to criticize Givenchy seeing how I admire Ricardo Tisci. But I truthfully believe this HC collection was the best out of them all. Tisci is known for his gothic/romantic take on fashion (check out his most recent womenswear collection) so this collection was a breath of fresh air! What made this collection beautiful was its fragility; Tisci took his time to create light and delicate gowns suited for an underwater sea goddess. Many HC collections go overboard with the accessories and colors; I love that Givenchy’s stripped down approach stood out among the other collections.

View the entire collection here

Overall Rating: 4/5

Chanel

When I first got into fashion, I always admired Karl Lagerfeld for his modern take on the classic Chanel house. But 6 years later, I do not feel the same about Chanel anymore, and this recent collection shows why. This HC collection is just a mirror reflection of Lagerfeld’s past collections. It’s the same dusky-grey tweed blazer, the same smoky eye, the same pedestrian heel. There is nothing that screams new inspiration. I do respect and admire the classic Parisian houses, but I do not want to see the same blazer & pencil skirt walking down the murky runway every season. I hope Lagerfeld will go deeper into Chanel’s history to find sometime fresh for the upcoming Spring season.

View the entire collection here

Overall Rating: 2/5

Haute Couture is supposed to bring excitement and luxury into the fashion industry. But with these collections, I was left disappointed and uninspired. Hopefully next season designers will find a strong source of inspiration for their upcoming collections.

All Photos Courtesy of: Style.com

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Fall 2011 Haute Couture: My Fashion Review at youthandhysteria.

meta

