Songs of The Summer: My 2011 Playlist!

June 21, 2011 § 1 Comment

Today is the 1st official day of summer, which brings barbeques, walks on the beach, and long nights of dancing! So a summer playlist will clearly follow suit! I’ve gathered a list of my top 12 songs, both old & new, that I’ll be rocking to throughout the next 3 months. Hope you enjoy!

In no particular order:

1. Chris Brown feat. Benny Bennasi Beautiful People (2011)

This songs fully captures the summer spirit: the building techno rhythms, the self-assuring lyrics, and international sound. Also, you can’t get better than Benny Bennasi!

2. Vybz Kartel Go Go Wine (2011)

I have a feeling this song will be on heavy rotation when I visit Jamaica next month. A definite go-to for DJ’s who want to keep the girls dancing!

3. Britney Spears Up N’ Down (2011)

Britney is the Queen of Summer Smashes, and this bonus track off her current album lives up to that title. Click here to read my post about this club banger!

4. Lady Gaga Scheisse (2011)

This song is hands down my favorite track off Mother Monster’s latest record. It is so late ’80s/early ’90s in the best way possible, and the techno-based production is incredible! “I don’t speak German, but I can if you’d like!” OW!

5. DJ Khaled feat. Drake, Lil Wayne & Rick Ross I’m On One (2011)

Leave it to DJ Khaled to give us another song that everyone will be blasting in their drop-tops and spinning endlessly at the clubs. The rap combination is solid; every artist featured brings their A-Game in this song!

6. Led Zeppelin D’yer Mak’er (1973)

There are times when you get tired of the dance songs and you just want to wind down. Led Zeppelin’s reggae-inspired song will bring you back to the easy times of the 1970’s.

7. Rihanna Man Down (2010)

I’ve stated before that despite the critique this song has been given, you can’t deny the fact that it’s a good record. The Bajan-born Pop Star blazes fire on the Dancehall-inspired track. RAM PAPA-POM!!!

8. Skrillex feat. Sirah WEEKENDS!!!! (2010)

As soon as the bass drops in WEEKENDS!!!, you’ll be instantly transformed into an electronic-loving, music festival-going addict! The song is super fun, and gets you energized for those long summer nights in the city!

9. Jennifer Lopez I’m Into You (2011)

I love the Caribbean vibe of this song; it’s so appropriate for when you’re soaking up the sun or taking a stroll down the boardwalk with your lover. It’s the perfect theme song for those steamy summer romances!

10. Amber This Is Your Night (1996)

Being an advocate for 90’s Pop, I had to throw this dance anthem in the mix! You can’t go wrong with a sultry voice paired with booming electro-synths! “I am, so in love with you. Oh yeah!”

11. Britney Spears Trouble (2008)

It would be unjust of me to have only one song on my playlist from the Pop Princess, and this track is definitely worth having on my list. Trouble (a bonus track on Circus) is bubbly, sassy, and cool; all the essential items a girl needs to have a fun summer!

12. Konshens Simple Song (2010)

The Dancehall deejay shows his softer side on this reggae-tinged track & I love it! It’s breezy, witty, and fun. The rhythm will have you jamming all the way into September!

What are YOUR favorite songs for this summer? 😀

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Songs of The Summer: My 2011 Playlist!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Songs of The Summer: My 2011 Playlist! at youthandhysteria.

meta

