Fashion vs. Music: What’s My Next Step?

June 10, 2011 § 3 Comments

As the last few weeks of my internship creep up on me, I’ve been thinking about what it is I really want to do with my career. Fashion has always been my focus ever since I flipped through the pages of the March 2005 issue of US Vogue. From that moment on, I submerged myself in the industry. I taught myself everything there was to know about designers, models, industry teams, positions, editors, etc. After 6 years of researching and about 4 years of interning, I am confident with my love and knowledge of the fashion industry.

But my current internship (I work at a fashion showroom doing Sales, PR, and Merchandising) has made me realize that I have been covering up a hidden desire. I am the head blogger for the showroom; through that experience I began this blog, where I discuss fashion and music. If you look through my posts, it is clear that there are more music posts than fashion. This blog has shown me that, even though I temporarily stopped writing poetry, I still have an innate passion for writing that will NEVER go away no matter how hard I try to stop it. I love writing, and I especially love writing about Music.

Many people don’t know this about me, but my love for music began way before I found my love for fashion. My father used to be a Dancehall DJ for radio when I was growing up, and I remember him showing me how to spin records and make songs flow seamlessly in a playlist. While I don’t speak to my biological father anymore, that excitement I feel about music is still there. I can’t cover it up! A class I took two semesters ago in college opened my eyes to what I truly enjoy.

“Popular Music as a Media Form” was a lecture class where we looked at music history from the 1920’s-2010 & analyzed the music industry, sonic productions, connection between music and society, interpretations of music/lyrics, etc. Taught by Professor Murray Forman (who is also my faculty advisor, ironically) the class made me realize that I knew more about the industry than I thought. I love learning about new bands/artists, finding out musical trends, and (obviously) writing album reviews. It was only a matter of time when the lightbulb would flash in my mind, exposing me to a truth I never known.

Writing about music is different from writing about fashion. With music, I can fully express my true feelings about something and be open to critique. Fashion is limited in that aspect; you have to make sure you’re pleasing the right people or else you’ll be under fire.

Soon to be only 20 years old and a middler in college (I go to Northeastern) I know I have a lot to learn about the music industry since I don’t know it as well as I do fashion; I feel like it could very well be a career option for me. If fashion (PR, editorial, journalism) doesn’t work out, I hope I get the chance to explore the inner workings of the music industry as a career. After all, I can’t hide my true passion forever.

🙂

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Fashion vs. Music: What’s My Next Step?

  • schan4 says:

    hey! im salina and i go to school in boston too! well ish.. in the suburbs (babson? you’ve probably never heard of it) anyways! we seem to be in the same grade and i was wondering how you ended up getting a fashion internship?! thats sick! more and more i’m learning thats what i want to do and i would love to get some insight into how to score a cool internship like you did!

    also – i think pr and music are really similar. you’re trying to communicate to the world thoughts; in music, it just happens to be more personal whereas pr is very much what the message the company/client is trying to communicate.

    check out my blog!
    schan4.wordpress.com

    • Hi, thanks for your comment! I do know where Babson is, I have a few friends who go there 😛

      I actually began doing fashion internships when I was 14. When I first started searching, I always emailed companies that were of interest to me & began from there.

      My best advice is to always send your resume to a magazine/pr firm/etc that you want to work for. Send as many as possible; someone will always contact you for an interview.

      Check out these websites as well: http://www.ed2010.com/ & http://freefashioninternships.com/. They’re always posting internships.

      Always be on the lookout via twitter or facebook, and follow companies that you like. Don’t be afraid to ask them questions through social media. Also, check with your school. Most colleges have a career office where they can help you find an internship.

      I hope this helps! Cool blog too 🙂

  • triplebulle says:

    I like your determination. And your style, pure and true. I’ll come back sometimes.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Fashion vs. Music: What’s My Next Step? at youthandhysteria.

meta

