Song of the Moment: Gun Session (Remix)

March 23, 2011 § Leave a comment

“Gun Session (Remix)” is one of the most heavy hitting songs I know, hence its constant rotation on my iPod & iTunes. The seamless combination of Dancehall and Hip-Hop would make any pair of ears drip with ecstasy. But putting the voices of Dancehall giants Vybz Kartel, Sizzla, and Shabba Ranks over the gangsta sampling of Young Jeezy feat’ Akon’s “Soul Survivor”, how could you go wrong?

When I first heard the song in 2007, I instantly knew the record was going to be on repeat for a long while. I’m a fan of unapologetic & murderous lyrics, and I also appreciate a bass-heavy beat thumping hard on my eardrum. “Gun Session” provided me with both of those aesthetics and brought it to THAT next level. It doesn’t matter if you understand the lyrics or not, you can’t deny that this record is a smash.

 

“Put di forty-five under di bladda. Squeeze di trigga, yuh hear it go RATTA TATATA!”

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Song of the Moment: Gun Session (Remix) at youthandhysteria.

meta

