New Music: Lana Del Rey – “West Coast”

April 14, 2014 § Leave a comment


After endless teasers and anticipation, Lana Del Rey‘s new single is finally here! “West Coast” is the debut track off the singer’s upcoming sophomore album Ultraviolence, which has a tentative May 18 release date.

After debuting the song at last night’s Coachella festival, the official audio was released this morning. “West Coast” is a dramatic departure from Del Rey’s usually soaring, orchestraic  production – thanks to the Black Keys‘ Dan Auerbach’s gritty guitar flicks, rusty synths and static percussion. If this bluesy tune is any indication of the singer’s sophomore project, then we’re all in for a treat.

Listen below: Keep reading!

Music Bite: Jack White Announces New Album, Releases “High Ball Stepper”

April 1, 2014 § Leave a comment


No…this is not an April Fool’s joke! Jack White is planning to follow up his stellar 2012 debut Blunderbuss with a new project! The rocker has announced that his sophomore album Lazaretto will be released on June 10 via Third Man Records.

Just for good measure, he followed up the announcement by dropped a brand new tune – “High Ball Stepper.”

Listen to the album’s bluesy instrumental single below:

Aside from his sophomore album, Jack White has a handful of other projects in the works – a collaboration on Neil Young‘s upcoming solo album and new music with Dead Weather. But the big question remains unanswered – will we ever hear from The Raconteurs ever again?

New Video: Dream Lake – “In The Lights”

April 1, 2014 § Leave a comment


Dream Lake displays the complicated nature of love in their new video for “In The Lights.” The Felicia Boudrée-directed video shows a young couple in love, as they explore the streets of Sweden. From romantic kisses to fueled arguments, the visual reflects different facets of everyday relationships. The enthralling visual complements the tune’s dream-like rhythms, which are filled with piano melodies and soaring harmonies.

Check out the official video below!

“In The Lights” is one of the highlights of their self-titled EP, released in December 2013. Dream Lake is a Swedish synth-pop duo comprised of Isabella Svärdstam and Niklas Willar Lidholm. They describe their music as “expressing the emotional state that oscillates between dream and reality. Melancholic tones and lyricism, combine in serene beauty.”

New Video: Jungle Doctors – “Falling”

March 22, 2014 § Leave a comment


After the release of their latest single “Dry,” Jungle Doctors are back with a new music video – this time for their newest song “Falling.”

The visual finds the British band in the tried-and-true recording studio set-up, which helps to showcase the song’s super-fun and airy indie-pop vibes.

Check it out below:

Jungle Doctors, a five-piece indie pop band who hail from Southwest London, formed in 2011 and released their first EP the following year.

New Video: BANKS – “Brain”

March 13, 2014 § Leave a comment


BANKS latest single “Brain” (which was released in January) now has a equally somber visual to match! The video sticks to the alt-R&B singer’s love for black+white, and  includes ghostly and space-age images that amp up the Shlohmo-produced tune.

Watch below:

Look out for BANKS’ debut album later this year via Harvest Records.

New Music: Cosmo Sheldrake – “The Moss”

March 11, 2014 § Leave a comment

Cosmo- 4 (low res)

It’s quite clear I have an affinity for UK musicians – from Shannon Wardrop to Hey, Sleeper, our friends across the pond are creating new and exciting music that is soon to refresh the music scene on an international level. My latest favorite comes from Cosmo Sheldrake. 

The 24-year-old Londoner and self-proclaimed multi-instrumentalist is making waves with his folk-progressive new single – “The Moss.” The trippy tune would fit perfectly in a Brothers Grimm fairytale – due to Sheldrake’s unusually-pitched vocal harmonies and staccato rhythms that plays between electronic synths, an Armenian Duduk and classic violin strings. Sheldrake accuratley describes the tune as “an ode to nonsense for its own sake.”

Cosmo Sheldrake’s debut single officially releases on April 21 along with a 7″ vinyl via paradYse / Transgressive Records, but good news – it’s now available for live stream right here!

Listen to “The Moss” below:

Over the past year Cosmo has composed music for film and theatre, as well as touring internationally supporting and playing with Johnny Flynn and the Sussex Wit. In the UK he has shared stages with Bombay Bicycle Club and US indie act Mutual Benefit and will be heading on a mini-tour across Europe – click here for tickets and tour dates.

Like what you hear? Then follow Cosmo Sheldrake on Twitter and Facebook!

%d bloggers like this: